News Stories

Further Details about 2013 SSHRC Insight Grant Successes
May 21, 2013

Colleagues, Earlier I informed you of the SSHRC Insight grant successes of Cynthia Nicol and Peter Gouzouasis. Now I have further information and wish to congratulate their co-investigators. Cynthia Nicol’s grant success was a project entitled: Living, learning and teaching in a refugee camp. Working with Cynthia on this are the following Co-Investigators: Samson Nashon, Karen Meyer, […]

Teacher Educator Award
May 17, 2013

Hello everyone, I am very pleased to inform you that our colleague Dr. Linda Farr Darling is the winner of the TEACHER EDUCATOR award for outstanding service, presented by the Association of BC Deans of Education (ABCDE). Dr. Farr Darling is the Eleanor Rix Professor of Rural Education. The position builds on Linda’s work with […]

Congratulations to the SSHRC doctoral awardees
May 16, 2013

Please join me in congratulating the following doctoral students for their success in the 2013/2014 SSHRC competition: Madden, Brooke (24 months), Prest, Anita (12 months), Royea, Diana (Canada Graduate Scholarship for 36 months), and Welsh Ashley (24 months). The Department is very proud of their success! Samson Nashon Graduate Adviser

Congratulations to Heather McGregor!

Congratulations to Heather McGregor, doctoral student in our department who was awarded the Northern Resident Scholarship of $10,000.00. Heather intends to use these funds for her research.  She will start her fieldwork this summer. Way to go Heather! Samson Nashon Graduate Advisor

SSHRC Insight Grant Successes 2013
April 9, 2013

Colleagues, I am highly delighted to inform you that Cynthia Nicol and Peter Gouzouasis have been successful in the most recent SSHRC Insight Grants competition. Cynthia has won funding of $459,403 over four years for her project and Peter has won $230, 075 over three years for the project he proposed. This is truly magnificent […]

Congratulations to Samson Nashon
April 8, 2013

Colleagues, Please take time to read about the EDCP involvement in the Dadaab teacher education project in today’s Metro News. Please also congratulate Samson Nashon not only for publicizing this important project but also for being a central player in its planning and implementation. Hearty congratulations, Samson. Best, Peter Peter Grimmett Professor and Head, Department […]

Jolie Mayer-Smith wins NSERC PromoScience grant
April 4, 2013

Colleagues, I’m delighted to inform you that Jolie Mayer-Smith (a full professor in EDCP officially since 2010) has been awarded a $150,000 NSERC PromoScience grant over three years for the continuation of her project “The Intergenerational Landed Learning on the Farm Project”. Very many congratulations to Jolie on this excellent project and this fine award. […]

Doctoral students’ successes
March 28, 2013

Colleagues, It gives me great pleasure to inform you that Mindy Carter, who completed her doctoral degree on May 25, 2012, has been awarded “Honourable mention the 2013 Outstanding Dissertation Award competition” of the Arts Based Education Research SIG of the AERA. She will be presented with this award at the annual AERA meeting in […]

Congratulations to Don Krug and David Anderson

Colleagues, I’m please to inform you that two of our faculty members have recently been in the media. Don Krug appeared March 15 on CTV National news talking about responsible social media  and David Anderson gave an interview on February 20 about the Master’s in Museum Education program to Canada’s History (Beaver) magazine It’s very […]

Anita Prest: Advancement to Candidacy

Colleagues, Please join me in congratulating Anita Prest on two counts: First, she has successfully defended her Ph.D. dissertation proposal for the members of her doctoral committee (Dr. Scott Goble, supervisor, Dr. Linda Farr Darling, and Dr. Marie McCarthy) on March 28, 2013, having previously passed her comprehensive examinations in July 2012, and now advanced to candidacy. […]


News Stories Filters

faculty students graduates sessional staff events
appointments awards & achievements grants in the media promotion publications scholarships