News Stories

Congratulations to Sandra Crespo, EDCP Alumna
February 23, 2017

Colleagues, I am most pleased to inform you that Sandra Crespo (PhD 1998) was recently promoted to full professor at Michigan State University (MSU) and this year she is one of the ten professors at MSU to receive the 2017 William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award, and the only one from MSU’s College of Education. Sandra […]

Congratulations to our New Distinguished University Scholar
February 17, 2017

The Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy is extremely pleased to announce that Dr. Rita Irwin has been appointed as Distinguished University Scholar at UBC. This appointment is made to a select group of exceptional members of faculty at the University who have distinguished themselves as scholars in research and/or teaching and learning. The designation is […]

G+PS’ Recognition of Doctoral Exam Chairs
February 16, 2017

Congratulations to Drs. Anthony Clarke, Samson Nashon & Anne Phelan who have been recognized by the Dean and Vice Provost of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies for their contributions serving in the role of the chair of doctoral examinations between January and December 2016. We look forward to having more members being recognized.

Congratulations to Heidi May
February 1, 2017

Colleagues, It gives me great pleasure to inform you that Heidi May (PhD, 2013) was recently awarded the 2017 InSEA Doctoral Research Award. The award recognizes an outstanding doctoral thesis in the field of visual arts education: a dissertation of exemplary conceptual, methodological, and literary quality on an important topic for education through the visual arts. […]

Congratulations to Elizabeth Beattie

EDCP is very pleased to announce the impressive accomplishment of Elizabeth (Liz) Beattie, Doctoral Candidate, who received a doctoral scholarship as part of the Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Doctoral Scholarships Program.  Liz’s doctoral research study is titled Meaningful outdoor learning experiences in early childhood science and sustainability education. Liz is supervised by Drs. Samson Nashon and Sandra Scott. […]

Summer Noted Scholar Dr. David Abram
January 26, 2017

EDCP is pleased to welcome noted scholar Dr. David Abram to UBC for our summer semester! Dr. David Abram, a cultural ecologist and philosopher, is the author of The Spell of the Sensuous: Perception and Language in a More-than-Human World (Vintage, 1997), and Becoming Animal: An Earthly Cosmology (Pantheon, 2010). Hailed as “revolutionary” by the […]

New Journal Article by E. Wayne Ross and Sandra Delgado
January 4, 2017

Colleagues, Please join me in congratulating E. Wayne Ross and his co-author, Sandra Delgado (Wayne’s PhD student), on the publication of their journal article. Delgado, S. & Ross, E. W. (2016). Students in revolt: The pedagogical potential of student collective action in the age of the corporate university. Knowledge Cultures, 4(6): 141-158. Hearty congratulations, Wayne […]

Best Paper Awards at the STEM 2016 Conference
November 9, 2016

Dear all, It is with great pleasure that our department recognizes two Best Paper Awards at the STEM 2016 Conference. Milner-Bolotin, M., & Oh, J. (October 28, 2016). A comparative Study of STEM educators’ views of technology: A case of Canada, China and Korea, Paper presented at the 4th STEM in Education Conference, Beijing, China: […]

Congratulations to Stephen McGinley

Colleagues, Stephen McGinley, Lecturer in EDCP, Dr. Joanna Sheppard (UFV), and Jeff Stromgren (School District #43) have been jointly awarded with a $25,000 RBC Learn to Play grant to support their proposal for “Building Community Capacity to Support Physical Literacy”. Their project aims to build community capacity to support physical literacy with colleagues in a […]

Congratulations to Sam Stiegler, EDCP doctoral candidate and Vanier scholar
November 1, 2016

Dear EDCP colleagues, I am delighted to announce that Sam Stiegler (Supervisor, Dr. Lisa Loutzenheiser) is one of four recipients of the 2016 American Educational Studies Association (AESA)Taylor & Francis Past President’s Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Research for his work titled, Going-along with Trans, Queer, and Genderqueer Youth: An Ethnography of the Everyday. Exceedingly […]


News Stories Filters

faculty students graduates sessional staff events
appointments awards & achievements grants in the media promotion publications scholarships